home

Published on by dcsteveinwuhan

100 0357 

WuHan is a city undergoing a rapid transition

I often forget the day of the week and the time differences between here and there. I cannot read anything so staying abreast of which day of the week it is, challenges me.   Sometimes after work I go to a student hangout near where I live, about a 10 minute taxi ride away. It is an .interesting place called WuHan Prison filled with expats from all over the world and Chinese  English speakers. It felt right out of star wars, really. A traveler band performed the other day, they pedaled all the way from Berlin through Russia and Mongolia across to Japan and through China...parts they did by train but the group was a motley crew of international counter-cultural alternative types including jugglers, musicians and mimes. they have a website www.monkeyband.tk and www.2wheels4change.com. Very cool. 

            Bars here are open late; along the streets are Chinese BBQ stands with kabobs and dumplings seasoned with very hot peppers...mmmm...tasty!  The bar seems unusual for WuHan, but given it is a big city with lots of colleges I expect to find some interesting scenes here that do not relate to bars and nightlife settings.

 

Published on pictures I took

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post